Skip to content

Pad See Ew

September 7, 2012

Every time I’ve been to a Thai restaurant, I ended up ordering Pad Thai. Every time I go to a Thai restaurant, I tell myself I will order something other than Pad Thai and then again, it happens. The problem was that I could make Thai Curry and its various derivative dishes but I could never create that Pad Thai flavor you got at a restaurant. Until I found a really great and simple recipe online demonstrated in a live video by a Thai cook at …a British restaurant. Needless to say, the recipe was Westernized. Since I discovered that recipe and successfully obtained the long-sought after Pad Thai taste – a combination of all kinds of sweet, salty, sour, spicy and other flavors – I have made Pad Thai several times. In fact it was about time to try a different recipe. That’s how I drifted to the less complicated Pad See Ew, another stir-fry noodle dish requiring fewer ingredients and less time. Pad See it for Ewrselves.

Ingredients: 

  • 250g flat and wide rice noodles
  • 1/2 kg ground pork, beef or mix of two (or calamari)
  • 3 cups Chinese broccoli
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons sweet dark soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons oyster sauce
  • 2 teaspoons thin soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons sugar (palm or regular granulated)
  • 2 teaspoons rice vinegar
  • 2 cloves garlic (pressed)

Prepare in advance:

  1. Noodles – method 1) soak dry noodles for 20 min in cold water until pliable but not too soft; method 2) blanch noodles for 3-5 min in boiling water until softened but not cooked.
  2. Meat – in a pan with some oil, cook ground meat until fully done and ready to use. (I used seafood instead.)
  3. Vegetable – chop Chinese broccoli or regular broccoli into large chunks and blanch or cook in a pan separately for 2-5 min or until semi-soft.
  4. Sauce – mix sweet dark soy sauce, oyster sauce, thin soy sauce, sugar, vinegar and garlic and set aside for stir-fry.

Heat two tablespoons of vegetable or sesame oil in a wok or any deep large pan. Crack egg and scramble quickly. Add noodles, stir with egg for 2 min, add sauce, stir some more. Turn heat to the maximum. Quickly add meat, stir again and cook until noodles begin to form slightly burnt edges. Stir in chopped, semi-cooked vegetable chunks, stir fry for only a few more minutes and serve piled up on a large plate. If using seafood, add last on top of noodles and vegetables before serving.

_______________________________________________________________________

Some notes for the beginners:
For more info on different types of rice noodles and cooking methods, visit this site:
For more Thai dishes, visit this site showing videos of Thai food street vendors: http://importfood.com/vendor_video/thai_street_vendor_videos.html
For examples of Pad See Ew recipes, visit these sites:
For a dramatic video of Pad See Ew noodles set on fire, scroll down this site:
From → Meat, Seafood, Seasonal, Thai

One Comment
  1. Bob Chaplinsky permalink

    HI Maria! I hope you are enjoying your new baby girl and your maternity leave! I visited your site this morning and it was so funny to see your recipe above: I had just decided this week that I would try to make pad thai…so I am gathering all the ingredients and the most difficult will be the tamarind paste. I might have to visit the Chinese market in Brussels center. Anyway I’ll let you know how it goes. Will also try some pumpkin bread this weekend as I bought a big pumpkin (plus two more for the kids to carve). Here’s the link for the pad thai recipe I will use from the NYTimes.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/22/dining/21minirex.html
    Will also try your Pad see ew with the next pack of noodles.
    take care and speak with you soon.
    Bob

Leave a Reply

